Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.

Arts and Entertainment

The 2nd Annual Streamy Awards at The Orpheum, 4/11/10

Stories like these are only possible with your help!
You have the power to keep local news strong for the coming months. Your financial support today keeps our reporters ready to meet the needs of our city. Thank you for investing in your community.

The Second Annual Streamy Awards, held Sunday night at Downtown LA's Orpheum Theater, confirmed the establishment of web television as part of Hollywood's ecosystem.  The awards ceremony included nods to traditional entertainment awards shows with a rumored streaker, gift bags, a formal dress code and the requisite running a half hour past schedule.  David Faustino appeared later on the awards podium fully or partially nude (difficult to tell from the press room).

While some in the blogosphere wished for a more serious tone and more of a technical polish, the show itself succeeded in achieving recognition for this relatively new entertainment medium. The DIY, viral format and style has spread to broadcast television. "Some of the technologies used in web television are now being used in broadcast television production," said Tim Street, creator of French Maid TV, before departing to Las Vegas for his five panels at NAB

As no event in Downtown LA, would be complete without the ubiquitous food truck, the WorldFare double-decker BusTaraunt made an appearance outside the Orpheum before the crowd adjourned to the afterparty at Cicada.

Full list of winners below.

Support for LAist comes from

Visionary Award: Chad Hurley (Co-founder & CEO, YouTube) The Streamy Visionary Award honors leaders and innovators who have made a significant contribution to the digital entertainment community.

Audience Choice Award: Ten finalists received the most public submissions during the Streamy Awards’ official submissions period from December 15, 2009 through January 18, 2010. The winner was determined by a public vote. (One vote allowed per day per person).

Overall Series

Best Comedy Web Series
Between Two Ferns with Zach Galifianakis

Best Drama Web Series
The Bannen Way

Best Hosted Web Series

Best Reality or Documentary Web Series
The Secret Life of Scientists

Best News or Politics Web Series
Auto-Tune the News

Best Foreign Web Series

Best New Web Series
Odd Jobs

Best Companion Web Series
The Office: Subtle Sexuality

Best Animated Web Series
How It Should Have Ended

Best Branded Entertainment Web Series
Back on Topps (Topps, Dick’s Sporting Goods)`

Best Experimental Web Series
Auto-Tune the News

Audience Choice Award for Best Web Series
Agents of Cracked


Best Directing for a Comedy Web Series
The Guild
(Sean Becker)

Best Directing for a Drama Web Series
The Bannen Way
(Jesse Warren)


Best Writing for a Comedy Web Series
Wainy Days
(David Wain)

Best Writing for a Drama Web Series
(Bernie Su)


Best Male Actor in a Comedy Web Series
Zach Galifianakis — (Between Two Ferns with Zach Galifianakis)

Best Female Actor in a Comedy Web Series
Felicia Day — (The Guild)

Best Male Actor in a Drama Web Series
Mark Gantt — (The Bannen Way)

Best Female Actor in a Drama Web Series
Rachael Hip-Flores — (Anyone But Me)

Best Ensemble Cast in a Web Series
Easy to Assemble
(Illeana Douglas, Justine Bateman, Eric Lange, Michael Irpino, Cheri Oteri, Daryl Sabara, Michael Panes, Rob Mailhouse, Sean Durrie, Tom Arnold, Ed Begley Jr., Tim Meadows, Ricki Lake, Greg Proops, Kevin Pollak)

Best Guest Star in a Web Series
“Weird Al” Yankovic — (Know Your Meme)

Best Web Series Host
Zadi Diaz — (Epic Fu)

Best Vlogger
Shane Dawson — (ShaneDawsonTV)

Craft Awards

Best Editing in a Web Series
The Bannen Way (Zack Arnold)

Best Cinematography in a Web Series
Riese (Christopher Charles Kempinski)

Best Art Direction in a Web Series
Green Porno (Rick Gilbert)

Best Sound Design in a Web Series
Fear Clinic (Kunal Rajan)

Best Visual Effects in a Web Series

Fear Clinic (Jason Bergman, Nicholas Onstad, Bethany Onstad, Jason Knetge, Erik Porn, Ikuo Saito, David Dang)

Best Animation in a Web Series
theGoob (Magnus Jansson)

Best Original Music in a Web Series
Auto-Tune the News (Evan Gregory, Andrew Gregory, Michael Gregory, Sarah Gregory)

Best Live Production in a Web Series
Kevin Pollak’s Chat Show

Best Interactive Experience in a Web Series

Best Product Integration in a Web Series
Easy to Assemble (IKEA)

Best Mobile Experience in a Web Series