Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.


Vote for the New 7 Wonders of the World

Today on Giving Tuesday, we need you.
Dear reader, we're asking you to help us keep local news available for all today on Giving Tuesday. Your financial support keeps our stories free to read, instead of hidden behind paywalls AND will be matched dollar-for-dollar! Let your support for reliable local reporting be amplified by this special matching opportunity. Thank you for investing in your neighborhood.

Have you ever sat around and tried to name the 7 Wonders of the World? What about figuring out if you've been to any of them? Chances are you haven't as it seems that 6 of them are no longer in existence. (The only remaining are the pyramids in Egypt.) Which are gone? The Hanging Gardens of Babylon, the Statue of Zeus at Olympia, the Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, the Mausoleum of Halicarnassus, the Colossus of Rhodes and the Pharos lighthouse off Alexandria. And the list hasn't been revisited since ancient times -- you know a long, long time ago.

How can we ever remedy this situation? A global competition has been going on to name seven NEW wonders of the world. Cast your vote now and join the more than 20 million people who have voted so far.

In the running are many places your fellow travelers may have been, including the Eiffel Tower, the Statue of Liberty, the Taj Mahal, Angkor Wat, and Peru's Machu Picchu. All of these places are part of the UNESCO's World Heritage Sites, totaling 830 places.

Support for LAist comes from

You can vote until July 6, 2007 by clicking here. The seven winners will be announced July 7 in Lisbon, Portugal.