Support for LAist comes from
Made of L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.


Royalty is Blooming: Meet Your 2011 Rose Court

Support your source for local news!
The local news you read here every day is crafted for you, but right now, we need your help to keep it going. In these uncertain times, your support is even more important. Today, put a dollar value on the trustworthy reporting you rely on all year long. We can't hold those in power accountable and uplift voices from the community without your partnership. Thank you.

The 2011 Rose Princesses (Photo courtesy Pasadena Tournament of Roses/Used with permission)

The 2011 Rose Princesses (Photo courtesy Pasadena Tournament of Roses/Used with permission)
Seven young ladies in the Pasadena area now have a reason to call themselves Princesses.

The 2011 Tournament of Roses Royal Court was announced yesterday, which was the penultimate moment in the 5-month-long process of becoming royalty for over 1,000 young women vying for the honor. The selection was made based on a long-standing tradition and criteria, including public speaking ability, poise, academic achievement, community involvement and personality.

“These seven young ladies are outstanding role models for the youth of Pasadena,” said Edward Afsharian, Chairman of the Queen and Court Committee. “They were selected from a pool of the most talented and poised in the Pasadena area. They are truly remarkable and will be wonderful ambassadors for the Tournament of Roses.”

Support for LAist comes from

The Pasadena Tournament of Roses will announce the 93rd Rose Queen on Tuesday, October 19th at 9:30 a.m. She will reign over the traditional New Year's Day parade.

Congratulations to the seven princesses, Tatyane Anaid Berrios (#946), 17, Arcadia High School; Sarah Christine Fredrickson (#421), 17, Maranatha High School; Evanne Elizabeth Friedmann (#433), 17, La Canada High School; Jessica Michelle Montoya (#745), 17, Flintridge Preparatory School; Tenaya Miyoko Senzaki (#130), 17, Pasadena High School; Kathryn Morris Thomson (#201), 17, Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy and Michelle Kaye Washington (#833), 18, Pasadena City College.

Most Read