Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.


Maps: Road Closures Announced for L.A. Marathon

Before you
Dear reader, we're asking you to help us keep local news available for all. Your tax-deductible financial support keeps our stories free to read, instead of hidden behind paywalls. We believe when reliable local reporting is widely available, the entire community benefits. Thank you for investing in your neighborhood.

MARCH 20, 2011: Looking for this year's route, street closures and transit changes? Check HERE.

Get ready for some Traffic this Sunday! City of Los Angeles traffic officials today released the complete list of street closures affected by this Sunday's sold-out Los Angeles Marathon, which has developed an extremely popular Stadium to Sea route. Portions of the race begin shortly before 7 a.m., but street closures across the city and three other cities--West Hollywood, Beverly Hills and Santa Monica--will begin during the 3 a.m. hour. Roads will be opened in sequence where parts of the race have ended.

And be warned, posted no-parking signs for the marathon will be strictly enforced, says LADOT. Vehicles in violation will be cited and impounded.

Events on Sunday begin at 6:55 a.m. for wheelchairs, 7:00 a.m. for hand cycles and 7:24 a.m. for all other participants. An accompanying 5K run event will be held at Dodger Stadium on Saturday, March 20 at 8 a.m.

Support for LAist comes from

To see details of closures street by street, download this PDF,which also includes a press release and the above maps. Details from the other three cities are forthcoming.