Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

Arts and Entertainment

Los Angeles Noir: Local Authors Celebrate the Dark Mysteries of LA

LAist relies on your reader support, not paywalls.
Freely accessible local news is vital. Please power our reporters and help keep us independent with a donation today.
5b2c63634488b30009283fe8-original.jpg

Here’s the thing: this book isn’t even out yet. But because we live in Los Angeles, and this book is about Los Angeles, you’re in luck. We’re all in luck.

Denise Hamilton and the bevy of supremely talented noir writers that contributed stories to this book are signing all over town this week. And the book will be, yes, you guessed it – available for signing at the readings two weeks before the rest of the country gets it. That’s how we roll. (At least, we’ve been assured repeatedly by booksellers that that’s how we roll.)

In the tradition of James Cain, Nathaniel West, Raymond Chandler and so many others who penned the first noir stories about our fair city, this anthology of noirish LA features new stories by Michael Connelly, Janet Fitch, Susan Straight, Naomi Hirahara, Denise Hamilton and many others. The seventeen stories are grouped into four only-in-LA categories that include different neighborhoods:
Part I: Police & Thieves (Mulholland, Koreatown, Leimert Park, San Marino)
Part II: Hollywoodlandia (Los Feliz, Beverly Hills, West Hollywood, East Hollywood)
Part III: East of La Cienega (Downtown, Los Angeles River, Commerce, Fairfax District, Mid-City)
Part IV: The Gold Coast (Pacific Palisades, Mar Vista, Belmont Shore, Westchester)

Support for LAist comes from

Makes us want to do some of our own sleuthing & slinking around. If opening lines are any indication, we’re guessing Susan Straight’s "The Golden Gopher" will be our favorite: “Nobody walked from Echo Park to Downtown. Only a walkin fool.”

Full schedule of readings & bonus noir pics after the deep, dark, cut: