Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.

Arts and Entertainment

LAT Book Prize Winners Announced, Graphic Novels FTW

Before you
Dear reader, we're asking you to help us keep local news available for all. Your financial support keeps our stories free to read, instead of hidden behind paywalls. We believe when reliable local reporting is widely available, the entire community benefits. Thank you for investing in your neighborhood.

Photo by ginnerobot via Flickr

Photo by ginnerobot via Flickr
Amidst a few technical difficulties, an awkward triumph, a few genuine tears, and a truly speechless speech, the LA Times Book Prize winners were announced last night at The Times’ Chandler Auditorium. LAT Book Editor, David Ulin, presided over the festivities and opened the ceremony with a warm welcome to “book nerds.”

So who won?

Mystery/Thriller - The Ghosts of Belfast by Stuart Neville
Science & Technology - The Strangest Man: The Hidden Life of Paul Dirac, Mystic of the Atom by Graham Farmelo
Current Interest - Zeitoun by Dave Eggers
First Fiction - American Rust by Philip Meyer
Biography - Dorthea Lange: A Life Beyond Limits by Linda Gordon
Graphic Novel - Asterios Polyp by David Mazzuchelli
Poetry - “Practical Water” by Brenda Hillman
Fiction - A Happy Marriage by Rafael Yglesias
History - Golden Dreams: California in an Age of Abundance 1950 - 1963 by Kevin Starr
Young Adult Literature - Marching for Freedom: Walk Together Children and Don’t You Grow Weary by Elizabeth Patridge

Support for LAist comes from

Dave Eggers also took the Innovators Award home & Evan S. Connell received the Robert Kirsch Award for lifetime achievement.

So how close did we come with some of our book prize predictioning? So-so. We thought Rafael Yglesias had a great chance to win, but weren’t feeling American Rust, so Philip Meyer’s win was a surprise. We’re thrilled, however, that David Mazzuchelli won for his stunning graphic novel Asterios Polyp and we’re still a bit giddy that graphic novels are now an official category for the LAT Book Prizes. That, in our book (pun intended), was the biggest win of the night.