Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.


LAst Night's Action: Kings Score Another Dominating Win

Stories like these are only possible with your help!
You have the power to keep local news strong for the coming months. Your financial support today keeps our reporters ready to meet the needs of our city. Thank you for investing in your community.


LA Kings defeat Edmonton Oilers 4-1
Kings: Mike Richards (9, 1:38 1st), Jeff Carter (22, 15:35 1st PP), Slava Voynov (5, 8:21 2nd PP), Drew Doughty (2, 19:11 3rd EV-EN)
Oilers: Magnus Paajarvi (8, 2:18 2nd PP)

LA Dodgers Pittsburgh Pirates
W: Clayton Kershaw (2-0, 0.00 ERA). L: A.J. Burnett (0-2, 3.27 ERA). S: Brandon League (2).
Clayton Kershaw: 7IP, 2H, 1BB, 9K, 97 pitches/57 strikes
A.J. Burnett: 5.1IP, 4H, 1ER, 4BB, 9K, 106 pitches/70 strikes.
HR: None.

LA Angels defeat Texas Rangers 8-4
W: Tommy Hanson (1-0, 4.50 ERA). L: Matt Harrison (0-1, 8.44 ERA).
Tommy Hanson: 6IP, 6H, 3ER, 4K, 2HR, 2 WP, 90 pitches/56 strikes.
Matt Harrison: 5IP, 8H, 5ER, 4BB, 2IBB, 3K, 2HR, 96 pitches/55 strikes.
HR: Angels - Albert Pujols 2 (2), Mark Trumbo (1), Peter Bourjos (1). Rangers - Ian Kinsler (2), Mitch Moreland (1), Nelson Cruz (1).

Support for LAist comes from

Kings Sign Draft Pick. On Friday, the Kings signed 21-year old defenseman Derek Forbort to a three-year entry level contract. Forbort was picked in the first round (15th overall) in the 2010 NHL Entry Draft and spent the last three seasons playing for the University of North Dakota. The 6'5", 207 pound Duluth, Minn. native played 42 games this year recording 17 points (4-13=17) with 22 penalty minutes.