Support for LAist comes from
Made of L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.


2008 LA Marathon: The Winners

Support your source for local news!
The local news you read here every day is crafted for you, but right now, we need your help to keep it going. In these uncertain times, your support is even more important. Today, put a dollar value on the trustworthy reporting you rely on all year long. We can't hold those in power accountable and uplift voices from the community without your partnership.

Russian Tatiana Aryasova won the LA Marathon, and the $100,000 "Banco Popular Challenge" with an unofficial time of 2:09:32*, beating out the top "elite" male runner, Laban Moiben of Kenya, who clocked in with an unofficial time of 2:13:50. The petite Aryasova is in peak shape; she recently gave birth and resumed her training rapidly.

Both runners received the keys to their new Honda Accords thanks to the race's sponsor, Honda of America, whose headquarters are located here in Torrance. They also each received a cash award of $20,000. The winning pair took the lead early on, and were ahead of the more than 26,000 runners who began the race in North Hollywood and traveled the 26 miles on foot to Downtown LA.

The wheelchair race had an exciting finish earlier this morning, which KTLA describes as featuring a "grueling sprint" taking place for the last six miles of their race. The winner was Saul Mendoza, who crossed the line in first place for the seventh time today, just moments ahead of Krige Schaburt, whose wheelchair had a flat front tire.

Support for LAist comes from

Although in the past two years of the race there have been fatalities, thus far only minor injuries, mostly in the bike race ride, have been reported.

*Corrected: Does not include the differential head start time of 19:38--LWR

Photo of today's marathon race by [Kwasi B.] via the LAist Featured Photos Pool on Flickr

Most Read