Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This


USDA's New Reality: What Not To Eat

Photo by ScottyP via LAist Featured Photos pool on Flickr
Stories like these are only possible with your help!
Your donation today keeps LAist independent, ready to meet the needs of our city, and paywall free. Thank you for your partnership, we can't do this without you.

A new set of Dietary Guidelines for Americans has been released by the US Department of Agriculture and the Department of Health and Human Services including 23 key recommendations for the general population and six key recommendations for specific population groups, like pregnant women. The federal government's "evidence-based nutritional guidance" is aimed at promoting health, lessening the risk of diseases, and reducing obesity through nutrition and physical activity.

Says the Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion, one-third of US children and more than two-thirds of US adults are overweight -- this six chapter, seventh edition of the Dietary Guidelines for Americans places stronger emphasis on calorie consumption focuses on increasing physical activity.

The common sense guidelines include suggestion like: eat less, avoid oversized portions, fill half of your plate fruits and vegetables, drink fat-free or low-fat milk, compare sodium levels in soup, bread, and frozen meals, and drink water instead of sugary beverages. USDA and HHS will release additional consumer advice and tools, and the next generation of the Food Pyramid, in the next few months.