Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.

Food

No Kosher for Passover Coca-Cola in CA

coke_bottle.png
Photo by Alan Heitz via the LAist Featured Photos pool on Flickr
Stories like these are only possible with your help!
You have the power to keep local news strong for the coming months. Your financial support today keeps our reporters ready to meet the needs of our city. Thank you for investing in your community.

If you were planning on enjoying a delicious Coke with your Passover seder this year and you live in California, just know that you will likely be breaking your keeping-kosher-for-the-week plans by doing so: According to the Huffington Post, kosher for Passover Coke still isn't available in the Golden State.

The reason for the lapse in carbonated beverages is that Coke recently changed its process for manufacturing caramel, and they haven't quite tweaked it to be Passover-safe yet. The process was changed in California because one of the ingredients was deemed a carcinogen; that means that in the rest of the country, it can still be used to make Coke that's kosher, but here in our annoyingly health-conscious state, it can't.

HuffPo notes that Coke had the following to say about the problem:

"We want to ensure that our kosher for Passover products using the new process caramel provide the same high quality taste and experience that our consumers expect."
Support for LAist comes from

Looks like it's Manischewitz for us this year. AGAIN.