Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

Arts and Entertainment

An Immersive 'Game Of Thrones' Concert Tour Is Coming

thrones-live.jpg
Concept art for Thrones, Live! (courtesy Game of Thrones® Live Concert Experience)
Stories like these are only possible with your help!
You have the power to keep local news strong for the coming months. Your financial support today keeps our reporters ready to meet the needs of our city. Thank you for investing in your community.


While news of the eventual conclusion of HBO's Game of Thrones was a bummer for those of us obsessed with dragons and beheadings and chainmaille and whatnot, it's popularity has suggested that there are endless ways with which to explore the Throne zone long after the show ends.But you'll be able to "visit" the realms of Westeros and Essos "in person" before that even happens, with a forthcoming "Game of Thrones® Live Concert Experience," which will be touring 28 U.S. cities next year. "Thrones Live" will come to the Forum in L.A. on March 23.

The Seven Kingdoms will be recreated for an audience using an "immersive music and visual experience" that uses "state-of-the-art technology", all supplemented by a full orchestra and choir, playing the show's fantastic tunes from Thrones score composer Ramin Djawadi. While the descriptions of what to expect are predictably vague and jargon-y, we can expect footage from the show alongside brand new images and video created specifically for the "Experience." Sounds expensive, which is not surprising (HBO is partnering with Live Nation for the tour), considering each episode of Game of Thrones is estimated at about $6 million.

We are very curious about how far they plan on taking this whole "immersive" experience, and it could either wind up very cool or very lame. We just hope we'll get to explore the ice cave where Jon Snow and Ygritte had sex. Or maybe we'll get to fly down the Moon Door.

5b29b8050161a1000dd5d18c-original.jpg
Support for LAist comes from


The Spirit of Troy, announcing the 'Game of Thrones' concert tour. (Photo by Juliet Bennett Rylah/LAist)
LAist's Juliet Bennett Rylah was at the scene when the tour was announced this morning at The Palladium:

It opened with USC's marching band, who marched from the Hollywood and Vine Metro station to the Palladium playing the Game of Thrones theme song. Once they arrived, they treated guests to a performance of the theme once more, as well the foreboding House Lannister theme, "The Rains of Castamere," and season 6 closer, "The Winds of Winter." Inside the Palladium, guests were able to upload their own likeness into the Hall of Faces via an app, and sit on the Iron Throne. There were also several costumes on display, including those worn by Arya Stark, Jaqen H'ghar and the Waif. Djawadi then appeared with actor Isaac Hempstead Wright, who plays Bran Stark, before conducting an orchestra through a medley of Thrones music, including "The North Remembers" and "The Rains of Castamere."

Here's a video of The Spirit of Troy performing "The Rains of Castamere":

Tickets go on sale starting this Saturday, August 13 at www.livenation.com for the show on March 23, 2017 at the Forum. Here's the list of cities:

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 / Kansas City, MO / Sprint Center
Friday, February 17, 2017 / St. Paul, MN / Xcel Energy Center
Sunday, February 19, 2017 / Chicago, IL / United Center
Monday, February 20, 2017 / Detroit, MI / Palace of Auburn Hills
Wednesday, February 22, 2017 / Columbus, OH / Nationwide Arena
Thursday, February 23, 2017 / Buffalo, NY / First Niagara Center
Saturday, February 25, 2017 / Uncasville, CT / Mohegan Sun
Sunday, February 26, 2017 / Philadelphia, PA / Wells Fargo Center
Wednesday, March 1, 2017 / Washington, DC / Verizon Center
Friday, March 3, 2017 / Montreal, QC / Bell Centre
Saturday, March 4, 2017 / Toronto, ON / Air Canada Centre
Monday, March 6, 2017 / Boston, MA / TD Bank Garden
Tuesday, March 7, 2017/ New York, NY / Madison Square Garden
Thursday, March 9, 2017 / Charlotte, NC / Time Warner Cable Arena
Saturday, March 11, 2017 / Ft. Lauderdale, FL / BB&T Center
Sunday, March 12, 2017 / Tampa, FL / Amalie Arena
Tuesday, March 14, 2017 / Atlanta, GA / Philips Arena
Thursday, March 16, 2017 / San Antonio, TX / AT&T Center
Friday, March 17, 2017 / Houston, TX / Toyota Center
Sunday, March 19, 2017 / Denver, CO / Pepsi Center
Tuesday, March 21, 2017 / Salt Lake City, UT / Maverik Center
Thursday, March 23, 2017 / Los Angeles, CA / The Forum
Saturday, March 25, 2017 / Las Vegas, NV / MGM Grand Garden Arena
Sunday, March 26, 2017 / Phoenix, AZ / TalkingStick Resort Arena
Wednesday, March 29, 2017 / San Jose, CA / SAP Center
Friday, March 31, 2017 Seattle, WA / Key Arena
Saturday, April 1, 2017 / Vancouver, BC / Rogers Arena
Sunday, April 2, 2017 / Portland, OR / Moda Center