Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.

Arts and Entertainment

Listen To The Dreamy 'Palo Alto' Soundtrack Featuring Blood Orange

We need to hear from you.
Today, put a dollar value on the trustworthy reporting you rely on all year long. The local news you read here every day is crafted for you, but right now, we need your help to keep it going. In these uncertain times, your support is even more important. We can't hold those in power accountable and uplift voices from the community without your partnership. Thank you.

Palo Alto, a Gia Coppola-directed film based on James Franco's short stories on teenage angst, has a soundtrack that beautifully captures the mood of high school.

Scored by Devonté Hynes (AKA Blood Orange), the indie, synth-heavy and R&B-laced tracks flesh out the dreamy movie on falling in love, getting into trouble, and transitioning to adult life. Hynes lent some of his songs like "Champagne Coast" and "You're Not Good Enough" from his Cupid Deluxe album to the set, but also created original tracks for the film like his sexy "Palo Alto."

Rooney's Robert Schwartzman also has four tracks on the soundtrack and comes from the same lineage of talent of the Coppola family; Schwartzman is second cousins with Coppola, who is the granddaughter of Francis Ford Coppola. Included in the soundtrack is Coconut Records' "Is This Sound Okay?" Let's just add that Jason Schwartzman (The Grand Budapest Hotel) uses Coconut Records as his moniker, and he just so happens to be the brother of the Rooney frontman. They're keeping it in the family, apparently.

Even the film's stars, Nat Wolff and Jack Kilmer, deliver some piano and guitar-laced songs to the stellar soundtrack. While the film will be released in theaters on May 9, the soundtrack can be purchased on iTunes here and the actual CD can be pre-ordered for its June 3rd release here.

Support for LAist comes from

Here is the full Palo Alto soundtrack tracklist:

01 Devonté Hynes - “Palo Alto”
02 Mac DeMarco - “Ode To Viceroy”
03 Robert Schwartzman - “Fútbol Americano”
04 Blood Orange - “Champagne Coast”
05 Tonstartssbandht - “5FT7″
06 Coconut Records - “Is This Sound Okay?”
07 Nat & Alex Wolff - “Rock Star (Movie Version)”
08 Francesco Pennino - “Senza Mamma”
09 Robert Schwartzman - “Graveyard”
10 Robert Schwartzman - “So Bad”
11 Devonté Hynes - “April’s Daydream”
12 Robert Schwartzman - “It’s You”
13 Jack Kilmer - “T.M.”
14 Blood Orange - You’re Not Good Enough”

You can listen to the entire soundtrack on Spotify here:

Gia Coppola's 'Palo Alto' Rises Above Usual Teenage-Angst Tropes

Most Read