Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This


10 States Want Gay Marriage Delayed

Stories like these are only possible with your help!
You have the power to keep local news strong for the coming months. Your financial support today keeps our reporters ready to meet the needs of our city. Thank you for investing in your community.

Ten states have approached California to ask the state's Supreme Court to stay the ban on same-sex marriages until voters make a decision at the November election. "The attorneys general said they have an interest in the case because they would have to determine if their states would recognize the marriage of gay residents who wed in California," KNBC reported. "They want the court to stay its ruling until after the November election, when voters likely will decide whether to amend the state constitution to ban gay marriage."

The ten states are Alaska, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Michigan, Nebraska, New Hampshire, South Carolina, South Dakota and Utah. New York has already begun to approach the issue or recognizing same-sex marriages from Massachusetts and California in their state.

As of now, the first day for gay couples to marry is June 17. Others have asked for the same 5-month delay, but because they oppose it and produced enough petition signatures placing the issue on November's ballot.

Support for LAist comes from

Photo by w_stosime via Flickr