Support for LAist comes from
Made of L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.

Arts and Entertainment

XBIZ Awards 2010: Red Carpet

Support your source for local news!
The local news you read here every day is crafted for you, but right now, we need your help to keep it going. In these uncertain times, your support is even more important. Today, put a dollar value on the trustworthy reporting you rely on all year long. We can't hold those in power accountable and uplift voices from the community without your partnership. Thank you.

Female Performer of the Year nominee Jenna Haze on the red carpet at XBIZ Awards 2010

As mentioned previously, earlier this month, local adult publication XBIZ held their eighth annual XBIZ Awards at Avalon in Hollywood. While the AVN Awards may be considered the Oscars of the adult industry, the XBIZ Awards should not be considered the equivalent of the Daytime Emmys as TMZ joked, but rather the Golden Globes, and as a result are still highly-coveted.

Hosted by Teagan Presley and Sunny Leone, the show awarded prizes in 67 categories spanning five fields (Web & Tech, Movies & Production, Novelty & Retail, People's Choice, and Special Recognition), with Adam & Eve's The 8th Day winning Feature Movie of the Year and X-Play/Hustler Video's Not the Bradys XXX: Marcia, Marcia winning Parody Release of the Year. In addition, Kimberly Kane won Female Acting Performance of the Year for The Sex Files: A Dark XXX Parody, while Tori Black, Kagney Linn Karter, and Sasha Grey repeated last month's AVN Award wins for Female Performer of the Year, New Starlet of the Year, and Crossover Star of the Year with the XBIZ Award equivalents, while Evan Stone won Male Acting Performance of the Year for This Ain't Star Trek, James Deen won Male Performer of the Year, and Dane Cross won New Male Performer of the Year. As for People's Choice, The 8th Day won Feature Movie of the Year and New Sensations' The Office: A XXX Parody won Porn Parody of the Year, while Presley won Female Porn Star of the Year, Tanner Mayes won Best New Starlet of the Year, and Tom Byron won Male Porn Star of the Year.

Support for LAist comes from

To be continued.

Most Read