This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.
This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.
Is Your Vehicle Registration Due in July? You Won't Have to Pay It...Right Away
For the many Californians whose vehicle registration fees come up this July, some sort of good news. You won't have to pay your fees...in July. Renewal notices for July are being ordered on hold at the DMV because while there is a law that goes into effect that month that sees to it the fees are lowered, Governor Jerry Brown and other lawmakers are working on our state budget, which could see those fees maintained to help rectify our deficit, according to CBS2.
Right now, vehicle fees are calculated as 1.15 percent of a vehicle's value, however, on July 1, that fee is slated to drop down to .65 percent. Brown wants to keep that fee at the 1.15 percent rate, though, and if notices for July go out now using the lower rate, those drivers would be charged a balance in a separate, later bill. To avoid that, yesterday he signed a law holding the July notices.
So what do the approximately 2.4 million drivers with July renewal dates do? "Drivers with July registration dates will not receive their renewal notices the usual 60 days in advance and they will not have to pay late fees for 30 days, he said. In addition, highway patrol officers will be instructed to ignore late registrations in the month of July," explains LA Now.
You can check how much your renewal fees will be online using the DMV's fee calculator, which is set at the current rate.