Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.

Food

1.8 Million Boxes Of Cheerios & Honey Nut Cheerios Recalled

cheerios-box.jpg
Double-check those cereal boxes (Photo by Justin Sullivan/Getty Images)
Before you read more...
Dear reader, we're asking you to help us keep local news available for all. Your financial support keeps our stories free to read, instead of hidden behind paywalls. We believe when reliable local reporting is widely available, the entire community benefits. Thank you for investing in your neighborhood.

Cereal eaters, beware: if you can't eat wheat products, you may want to double-check your Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios boxes. General Mills has issued a voluntary recall of 1.8 million boxes of these breakfast favorites because they may contain wheat.

The cereal boxes have been labeled as gluten-free, but since they may contain the wheat allergen, the company is recalling cereal produced on several dates in July. According to a General Mills press release, there was an isolated incident where wheat flour was accidentally added in their gluten free oat flour system at their facility in Lodi, a city just north of Stockton, Calif. The other General Mills plants were not affected.

"Products containing wheat can cause illness or severe reactions for individuals with wheat allergies or celiac disease," the release said. "Products containing wheat can also cause illness or discomfort for individuals with gluten intolerance."

Check your cereal boxes to see if they were made in the Lodi facility, and if their "BETTER IF USED BY" dates include the following:

Support for LAist comes from
5b29cb650161a1000dd61aaf-original.jpg

If your boxes match the dates, you can contact General Mills at 1-800-775-8370 for a replacement or full refund. General Mills will also be taking the affected cereal boxes off the shelves at warehouses and stores.

"I am embarrassed and truly sorry to announce today that we are recalling boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced on several dates at our Lodi, California facility," Jim Murphy, General Mills senior vice president and president of the cereal division, said in a statement.