Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

Arts and Entertainment

Abbot Kinney Festival w/ WAZ, Buddy, Laura Jansen, Holly Conlan, Steve Reynolds, Brian Wright, Jesca Hoop, Greg Laswell & Chris Pierce @ Brooks Stage, 9/28/08

LAist relies on your reader support, not paywalls.
Freely accessible local news is vital. Please power our reporters and help keep us independent with a donation today.

Last weekend, the 24th Annual Abbot Kinney Festival took place in Venice. One longtime attendee noted that in past years, the quality of musical entertainment wasn't particularly memorable, so she was pleasantly surprised at the lineup this year, which included locals WAZ (MySpace), Buddy (MySpace), Laura Jansen (MySpace), Holly Conlan (MySpace) with Pedestrian (MySpace), Steve Reynolds (MySpace) with Cary Brothers (MySpace), Brian Wright (MySpace) with Sally Jaye (MySpace), Jesca Hoop (MySpace), Greg Laswell (MySpace), and Chris Pierce (MySpace) on the Brooks Stage (booked by the Hotel Cafe), Paul Chesne (MySpace) and Matt Ellis (MySpace) on the Andaluisa Stage, and War Tapes (MySpace) and HoneyHoney (MySpace) at the Palms Stage (although it should be noted that the set times listed on the website for this stage were woefully incorrect).

As for upcoming local shows, the Hotel Cafe Tour stops this Friday at the Hotel Cafe in Hollywood for a sold-out performance featuring Jansen and Conlan as well as Jaymay (MySpace), Erin McCarley (MySpace), Meiko (MySpace), and Rachael Yamagata (MySpace).

Meanwhile, two Barack Obama Presidential Campaign fundraisers, featuring an all-star cast of regulars, will take place this Sunday and Monday at the Hotel Cafe. Sunday's roster includes Jansen, Laswell, and Brothers, as well as Butch Walker (MySpace), Priscilla Ahn (MySpace), Jim Bianco (MySpace), Terra Naomi (MySpace), Ron Sexsmith (MySpace), Charlotte Martin (MySpace), Caitlin Crosby (MySpace), and Marina V (MySpace), while Monday's includes Pierce as well as Ben Harper (MySpace), Brett Dennen (MySpace), David Ryan Harris (MySpace), Tom Freund (MySpace), Marié Digby (MySpace), Rocco Deluca (MySpace), HoneyHoney, Schuyler Fisk (MySpace), and Tim Myers (MySpace).