Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.

Arts and Entertainment

LA Pride 2011 Honorees Named: Margaret Cho, Andy Cohen Among Them

An image from LA Pride 2010. Photo by SnapShot Boy via the LAist Featured Photos pool on Flickr
Before you
Dear reader, we're asking you to help us keep local news available for all. Your tax-deductible financial support keeps our stories free to read, instead of hidden behind paywalls. We believe when reliable local reporting is widely available, the entire community benefits. Thank you for investing in your neighborhood.

As LA gears up for our annual Gay Pride event, a number of honorees have been named for the occasion. According to a statement on the group's website, the honorees have "demonstrated commitment to greater visibility and understanding, advocacy, human rights, empowerment, marriage equality and service."

This year, they include comedian Margaret Cho, who received the Morris Kight Lifetime Achievement Award. Person of the Year award goes to Bravo VP of Programming and Development/host Andy Cohen. And Dr. Isabel, a leading Hispanic radio host who is supportive of LGBT issues.

This year, in addition to the famous pride parade, Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa will usher in the first LGBT Heritage Month. Get ready to let your rainbow flag fly!