Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This


California Dream Act Bill Passes State Assembly, Heads to Senate

Stories like these are only possible with your help!
Your donation today keeps LAist independent, ready to meet the needs of our city, and paywall free. Thank you for your partnership, we can't do this without you.

Federal legislation known as the "Dream Act" was introduced in 2003, but failed to pass last year. However, in California, our state's own "Dream Act" for college students is making its way through its legislative hurdles successfully. Yesterday the state Assembly approved AB 130 (nicknamed the "Dream Act") by a vote of 51-21; the bill is sponsored by Los Angeles Assemblyman Gil Cedillo (D).

California's Dream Act does not pertain to awarding legal status to undocumented students, however; AB 130 is designed to make paying for college easier for such students, explains KPCC. "It allows for undocumented students who already meet the residency criteria for California in-state tuition to obtain scholarships that are not derived from state funds."

AB 130 is paired with AB 131, also introduced by Cedillo, that "would allow undocumented students to qualify for institutional financial aid, Cal Grants state financial aid grants and other assistance at the community college level." That bill, explains the Associated Press, is still in committee.

Following its passage yesterday along party lines, AB 130 heads to the state Senate.