Support for LAist comes from
Made of L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.


"A Brokedown Melody" Director Speaks Today @ Apple Store

Support your source for local news!
The local news you read here every day is crafted for you, but right now, we need your help to keep it going. In these uncertain times, your support is even more important. Today, put a dollar value on the trustworthy reporting you rely on all year long. We can't hold those in power accountable and uplift voices from the community without your partnership. Thank you.

Now that the weather is more normal we can go back to enjoying the fact that we live in LA and do Southern Californian things like skating, surfing, and editing movies on our Macs.

"A Brokedown Melody" is a beautiful new surf film starring the likes of Kelly Slater, Tom Curren, Gerry Lopez, the Malloys, Rob Machado, CJ Hobgood, Jack Johnson and others. It features two tunes by Johnson, a previous unrelease solo number by Pearl Jam's Eddie Vedder, and No Doubt's bff Matt Costa.

Because we're spoiled as hell, today at the Apple Store on the Third Street Promenade, Emmett Mallory, one of the Malloy brothers who co-directed the film will be giving away all his secrets about surfing, directing, editing, and owning the label that Jack Johnson is on.

After the jump enjoy some streams of two of the tracks, as well as the full tracklisting of the cd.

Support for LAist comes from

01. Culver City Dub Collective - "The Cave"
02. Jack Johnson - "Home"
03. Kings Of Convenience - "Know How"
04. Doug Martsch (Built To Spill) - "Window"
05. Eddie Vedder - "Goodbye" (win | real)
06. Johnny Osborne - "We Need Love"
07. Jack Johnson w/ Matt Costa and Zach Gill - "Let It Be Sung" (win | real)
08. The Beta Band - "Needles In My Eyes"
09. M. Ward - "Transfiguration #1"
10. Matt Costa - "The Road"
11. Astor Piazzolla - "Vuelvo Al Sur (Koop Remix)"
12. Jack Johnson - "Breakdown (film version)"

Most Read