Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

Arts and Entertainment

Get Out: Spike Jonze Book Signing, National Bundt Day, Italian Cinema, Japanese Food Festival

Stories like these are only possible with your help!
Your donation today keeps LAist independent, ready to meet the needs of our city, and paywall free. Thank you for your partnership, we can't do this without you.

getout_nov15_mull.jpg
Photo by chris787flickr via the LAist Featured Photos pool on Flickr


Photo by chris787flickr via the LAist Featured Photos pool on Flickr
Spike Jonze Signs Heads On & We Shoot: The Making Of Where The Wild Things Are @ Family
Fans of Where the Wild Things Are and Spike Jonze will want to head to FAMILY at 5 this evening as the famed director signs copies of his book Heads On & We Shoot: The Making Of Where The Wild Things Are. About the book, via FAMILY's website: "The book design is heavily image-based, a mix of early sketches, storyboards, character designs, and extensive behind-the-scenes photographs that show both incredible live-action puppetry and computer animation. The text includes forewords by Jonze and Eggers, interviews with the cast and crew, stories from on and off the set, and early drafts of the screenplay."

National Bundt Day @ Kiss My Bundt
Celebrate National Bundt Day by, well, eating some bundt cake! Hello! Hit up Kiss My Bundt, where they are going to be giving away free slices of their bundt cakes while supplies last. They're open from 12:30-5 today, so hurry to get yourself a sweet celebratory treat.

Cinema Italian Style 2009
A couple of screenings tonight as part of the American Cinematheque's Cinema Italian Style festival at the Aero Theatre in Santa Monica. See Vittorio D, a documentary about Italian director Vittorio De Sica, which includes interviews with stars like Woody Allen, Shirley MacLaine, Clint Eastwood & more (5 p.m.). Next up it's Win! (Vincere), a quirky historical drama about Benito Mussolini's illegitimate son (7:30 p.m.). There's a discussion following the film, with actors Giovanna Mezzogiorno and Filippo Timi. Tickets are available in advance via Fandango.

Support for LAist comes from

10th Annual JRA Japanese Food Festival
It's that time of year again...Time for pros in the Japanese food and beverage industry to gather to show off the best of their wares at the JRA Japanese Food Festival. Enjoy entertainment like the Big Tuna Filleting Show, a Sushi Chef Contest, a Sushi Eating Contest, a Mega Roll Contest, and a Jazz, Koto & Taiko Concert all while stuffing your face with unlimited sushi, noodles, and sake. It's from 11-4 today at the Kyoto Grand Hotel & Gardens in their Banquet room & gardens. Admission is $50 (includes all food & drink) and guests get a gift bag.