Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This


Villaraigosa and Others Begin New Terms in Office Today

LAist relies on your reader support, not paywalls.
Freely accessible local news is vital. Please power our reporters and help keep us independent with a donation today.

Later this morning on the south steps of City Hall, Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa and eight city councilmembers will take their oaths of office. City Controller-elect Wendy Greuel
and City Attorney-elect Carmen Trutanich will also take part with Los Angeles Laker guard Derek Fisher serving as the Master of Ceremonies. Among the councilmembers, only one is new, but not new to politics. Paul Koretz will take the reigns of Council District 5 (parts of Westside, Bel Air, Sherman Oaks, Encino, Hollywood Hills, Hollywood, South Robertson) bringing his experience as a West Hollywood councilman and State Assemblymember. Others coming back for another city council term include Ed Reyes, Dennis Zine, Richard Alarcon, Jan Perry, Bill Rosendahl, Eric Garcetti and Janice Hahn.