Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This


The Obama Inauguration Schedule, Pacific Standard Time

LAist relies on your reader support, not paywalls.
Freely accessible local news is vital. Please power our reporters and help keep us independent with a donation today.

* 6:45 a.m.: Prayer service at St. Johns ends; Obamas depart for the White House

* 7:05 a.m.: Obamas have coffee with the Bushes.

* 8 a.m.: Motorcade departs for the Capitol.

* 8:30 a.m.: Sen. Dianne Feinstein will issue the call to order and deliver brief welcoming remarks.

Support for LAist comes from

* 8:35 a.m.: Invocation from Dr. Rick Warren.

* 8:40 a.m.: Performance by Aretha Franklin

* 8:50 a.m.: Joe Biden is sworn in as vice president by Supreme Court Justice John Stevens

* 8:56 a.m.: Barack Obama is sworn in as president by Supreme Court Chief Justice John Roberts.

* 9:00 a.m.: Musical performance from John Williams, Yo-Yo Ma, Itzhak Perlman, Gabriela Montero and Anthony McGill, followed by "Hail to the Chief" and a 21-gun salute.

Support for LAist comes from

* 9:05 a.m.: Inaugural address, followed by a poem written and recited by Elizabeth Alexander and a benediction from Dr. Joseph Lowery.