Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.

News

Santa Monica Police Will Not Throw you in Jail if You Don't Have a Bicycle License, Says Official

Stories like these are only possible with your help!
You have the power to keep local news strong for the coming months. Your financial support today keeps our reporters ready to meet the needs of our city. Thank you for investing in your community.

santa-monica-bicycle-license2.jpg
Photo by alexbcthompson via Flickr


Photo by alexbcthompson via Flickr
Although Santa Monica's outdated bicycle license appears to directly contradict state law, officials recently have been promoting the city's bicycle licenses because of a rise in thefts in the Southbay. "We do try to get people to get licensed because it makes the return of stolen bikes easier," explained Don Patterson, the manager who oversees the division that issues bicycle licenses.

"Concurrent with that, we recognize we are a tourist city and if you ride your bike into Santa Monica... we're not going to just stop for not having a bicycle license and throw you in jail," Patterson continued.

Santa Monica's bicycle license law has been on the books since 1995 and states that "any person" riding on city streets is subject to the law. However, state law says cities that choose to require bicycle licenses may only apply it to residents.

Support for LAist comes from

After LAPD officers began using the Los Angeles' bicycle license law as a reason to detain cyclists in handcuffs earlier this year, it was struck down by the L.A. City Council because the spirit of the law was to aid in recovering stolen bicycles.

Bicycle bloggers worry that the law will used by Santa Monica police to stop any cyclist if the law isn't changed. Patterson said there has been no discussions in regards to updating the law.

The worst punishment for not having a license is up to six months in jail and/or up to $1,000 in fines. But according to the California Vehicle Code, a 1983-written limit for such a violation is up to $10.

To obtain a bicycle license (details here), you can call (310) 458-8745

Previously: Jail or up to a $1000 Fine for Not Having a Bicycle License in Santa Monica