Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.


Korir and Kiplagat Win 25th Annual LA Marathon

Korir, in Bib #1, won today's LA Marathon (Photo by STERLINGDAVISPHOTO via the LAist Featured Photos pool on Flickr)
Before you
Dear reader, we're asking you to help us keep local news available for all. Your financial support keeps our stories free to read, instead of hidden behind paywalls. We believe when reliable local reporting is widely available, the entire community benefits. Thank you for investing in your neighborhood.

The 25,000 runners comprising the sell-out group of participants took to the glorious new Stadium to the Sea route of the LA Marathon in what commentators couldn't help but refer to a "sea of humanity," but one man and one women were destined to be deemed winners in this 25th annual running. Two Kenyans emerged as champs, Wesley Korrir and Edna Kiplagat, and their victories and times were announced live on air and via Twitter: Honda LA Marathon Official times Wesley Korir 2:09:19 - Edna Kiplagat 2:25:38. As the rest of the participants make their way to the shore on this beautiful spring day, congratulations to everyone!