Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

Arts and Entertainment

TV Junkie at the 69th Annual Peabody Awards

Stories like these are only possible with your help!
Your donation today keeps LAist independent, ready to meet the needs of our city, and paywall free. Thank you for your partnership, we can't do this without you.

We went to the 69th Annual Peabody Awards held at the historic Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York yesterday to see 36 recipients pick up the awards that they were chosen for in 2009. The Peabodys are interesting as they narrow the recipients down to any number of winners from over 1000 submissions - see the complete list of recipients here. The recipients can be in virtually any medium, from the web to film, but we focused on interviewing recipients who had a direct connection with television and were happy to have connected with:

Steve Levitan, creator of ABC's "Modern Family" as well as cast members Ed O'Neill and Eric Stonestreet. Jane Lynch of Fox's "Glee" (above). Veteran investigative reporter for "60 Minutes", Steve Kroft. Gary Knell, president of Sesame Workshop and Elmo of PBS' "Sesame Street". And from KCET's "SoCal Connected", reporters Judy Muller and John Larson.


a circa 1996 Peabody Award