Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This


Clayton Kershaw Wins the NL Cy Young Award, Again

Clayton Kershaw #22 of the Los Angeles Dodgers pitches during the 83rd MLB All-Star Game at Kauffman Stadium on July 10, 2012 in Kansas City, Missouri. (Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)
LAist relies on your reader support, not paywalls.
Freely accessible local news is vital. Please power our reporters and help keep us independent with a donation today.

In a landslide, Dodger ace Clayton Kershaw won his second National League Cy Young Award as the league's best pitcher as voted by the Baseball Writers Association of America. Kershaw also won the award in 2011 and came in second in 2012.

Kershaw became the second Dodger to win multiple Cy Young Awards — Sandy Koufax won in 1963, 1965 and 1966. Kershaw placed first in 29 of the 30 ballots cast.

Kershaw led the Majors with a 1.83 ERA, the lowest since Pedro Martinez's 1.74 in 2000 and the lowest in the National League since Greg Maddux's 1.63 in 1995. It is the third consecutive season Kershaw has led both leagues in ERA.

It was nice of the BBWAA to follow suit with the Internet Baseball Writers of America who also voted Kershaw as the best NL pitcher. Both organizations also agreed that the Detroit Tigers Max Scherzer was the best AL pitcher.