Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

Arts and Entertainment

'12 Years' Wins Big at Independent Spirit Awards, Patton Oswalt Cracks Us Up as Host

Lupita Nyong'o arrives at the 2014 Film Independent Spirit Awards in Santa Monica March 1, looking flawless as usual (Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images)
LAist relies on your reader support.
Your tax-deductible gift today powers our reporters and keeps us independent. We rely on you, our reader, not paywalls to stay funded because we believe important news and information should be freely accessible to all.

12 Years a Slave won Best Feature, Best Director (Steve McQueen), Best Screenplay, Best Supporting Female (Lupita Nyong’o) and Best Cinematography at the Independent Spirit Awards Saturday afternoon.The ceremonies took place under a tent on the beach in Santa Monica, despite the heavy rain in Los Angeles this weekend. Other awards given at the fest included a lot of Oscar favorites, from Matthew McConaughey and Jared Leto winning Best Male Lead and Supporting Male, respectively, for Dallas Buyers Club, to Cate Blanchett winning Best Female Lead for Blue Jasmine.

Comedian Patton Oswalt, who hosted the show, made a few choice digs, as reports:

“Just because the rain cleared up, doesn’t mean God loves you Hollywood … because Alec Baldwin is moving here.”
“Shia LaBeouf was seen on the red carpet wearing a plastic bag over his head with a sign ‘I’m not breathing anymore.’ ”
Support for LAist comes from
“I love independent film so much, I’ve nicknamed my genitals The Criterion Collection. Because they come with their own commentary by Peter Bogdanovich and they’re all streaming on Hulu.”

On Nebraska’s Bruce Dern:

“He’s here to see the beach one last time.” “I’m kidding — he was here earlier with his metal detector.”

You can watch the show on IFC at 7 p.m. PST. A full list of the major winners is below:

Best Feature: 12 Years a Slave
Best Director: Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave
Best Screenplay: Bob Nelson, Nebraska
Best First Feature: Fruitvale Station
Best First Screenplay: Bob Nelson, Nebraska
John Cassavetes Award: This Is Martin Bonner
Best Female Lead: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Best Male Lead: Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
Best Supporting Female: Lupita Nyong'o, 12 Years a Slave
Best Supporting Actor: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club
Best Cinematography: Sean Bobbitt, 12 Years a Slave
Best Documentary: 20 Feet from Stardom
Best International Film: Blue Is the Warmest Color
Robert Altman Award: Mud
Piaget Producers Award: Toby Halbrooks and James M. Johnston
Someone to Watch Award: Shaka King, Newlyweeds
Truer than Fiction Award: Jason Osder, Let the Fire Burn