Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.

Arts and Entertainment

'12 Years a Slave' Picks Up Another Win at the BAFTA Awards

'12 Years a Slave' star Lupita Nyong'o arrives at the EE British Academy Film Awards 2014 at The Royal Opera House Feb. 16 in London (Photo by Anthony Harvey/Getty Images)
Before you
Dear reader, we're asking you to help us keep local news available for all. Your financial support keeps our stories free to read, instead of hidden behind paywalls. We believe when reliable local reporting is widely available, the entire community benefits. Thank you for investing in your neighborhood.

After looking like it wasn’t going to win much of anything, 12 Years a Slave pulled an upset and picked up Best Film at the 2014 BAFTA Awards.The British film award ceremony (BAFTA stands for British Academy of Film and Television Arts, who gives out the awards) took place Sunday night in London, The Wrap reported. 12 Years a Slave ended up winning Best Film and Best Actor for Chiwetel Ejiofor, while Gravity won six awards.

Earlier this year, 12 Years a Slave won Best Drama at the Golden Globes.

The Oscars take place March 2.

A partial list of winners is below:

Support for LAist comes from

Best Film: 12 Years a Slave
Outstanding British Film: Gravity
Film Not in the English Language: The Great Beauty
Documentary: The Act of Killing
Animated Film: Frozen
Director: Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity
Original Screenplay: American Hustle
Adapted Screenplay: Philomena
Leading Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
Leading Actress: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Supporting Actor: Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips
Supporting Actress: Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle
Original Music: Gravity
Cinematography: Gravity
Editing: Rush