Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.


And the Thumb Drive Please . . . 2010 Streamy Award Nominations Annnounced

Before you
Dear reader, we're asking you to help us keep local news available for all. Your financial support keeps our stories free to read, instead of hidden behind paywalls. We believe when reliable local reporting is widely available, the entire community benefits. Thank you for investing in your neighborhood.

This morning, the International Academy of Web Television (IAWTV) announced the nominations for the Second Annual Streamy Awards (the "Streamys"). Nominations for 34 categories selected by the IAWTV were announced, with nominations for the Audience Choice award to be announced later this month.

The Streamys feature awards categories familiar from broadcast and cable television (Acting, Directing, Comedy Series, Dramatic Series) as well as categories that represent the content and format paradigm shifts in web television. New categories for 2010 such as Best Branded Entertainment Web Series and Best Vlogger reflect the blurring of lines between advertising and content, and performer and audience.

The nominees reflect a mixture of names familiar from cable and broadcast television (Lisa Kudrow, Zach Galifianakis) and web television personalities famous among the new media audience (Zadi Diaz, iJustine, Felicia Day).

The winners of the 2010 Streamys will be revealed on April 11, 2010 in a ceremony to be live streamed from the Music Box at Henry Fonda Theater in Hollywood.

Support for LAist comes from

Photo of 2009 Streamy Awards by the Bui Brothers via flickr.