Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

Arts and Entertainment

XRCO Awards, 4/16/09 (1/2)

Time is running out to keep LAist funded.
It's the FINAL DAY of our June Member Drive and we are behind on our goal to keep local news strong for the coming months. Your support today keeps our reporters ready to meet the needs of our city. Plus, your gift's impact will be twice as strong because it will be matched dollar for dollar!

Hostesses Jessica Drake & Kayden Kross

Part of an ongoing series

If the AVN Adult Movie Awards are the Oscars of the adult industry, then the X-Rated Critics Organization (XRCO) Awards would be the equivalent of the New York Film Critics Circle Awards.

Coinciding on the same night as the Grey Gardens premiere at the neighboring Grauman's Chinese Theatre, the 25th Annual XRCO Awards were held last month at Highlands in Hollywood, hosted by pornstars Jessica Drake and Kayden Kross, with veterans Nina Hartley and Veronica Hart as Trophy Girls, and XRCO member Jared Rutter serving as Master of Ceremonies.

Support for LAist comes from

Digital Playground, which won 22 AVN Adult Movie Awards, 15 of which were for its blockbuster epic Pirates II: Stagnetti's Revenge, continued its run as this year's studio frontrunner with five XRCO Awards, including Best Epic (Pirates II), Best Release (Cheerleaders), New Starlet (Stoya), Single Performance - Actor (Evan Stone), and Most Outrageous Extras (Pirates II), while Wicked Pictures ran a close second with Best Epic (a tie with Fallen), Best Director - Feature (Brad Armstrong), and Single Performance, Actress (Jessica Drake). In addition, multiple awards were handed to Armstrong (who also won Hall of Fame - Film Creator), Belladonna (Orgasmic Oralist, Orgasmic Analist, and Best Girl/Girl Movie - Belladonna's Girl Train), and James Deen (Male Performer of the Year, Best On-screen Chemistry). And preceding the release of Steven Soderbergh's The Girlfriend Experience and interviews with Rolling Stone and Filmmaker Magazine, Sasha Grey won Mainstream Adult Movie Favorite.

To be continued.

Special thanks to XRCO, Dominic Ace, Alexander "Monstar" Raymond, and Highlands.