Support for LAist comes from
Made of L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This


Thanks, Storms! Tax Day For Most Californians Is Now Oct. 16

A person with a medium skin tone wearing a green statue of libery costume holds their hand up in the air. They're holding a yellow arrow sign in the other hand that says income tax. The photo is taken from below, so behind the person is a cloudy sky.
Felipe Castro holds a sign advertising a tax preparation office in Miami, Florida.
(Joe Raedle
Getty Images)
Support your source for local news!
The local news you read here every day is crafted for you, but right now, we need your help to keep it going. In these uncertain times, your support is even more important. Today, put a dollar value on the trustworthy reporting you rely on all year long. We can't hold those in power accountable and uplift voices from the community without your partnership. Thank you.

If you live in California and haven’t done your taxes yet, you may be able to breathe a sigh of relief.

Most of California's counties — including Los Angeles, Orange and San Bernardino counties — do not have to file by the April 18 deadline. That's because our winter storms, which included flooding, landslides and mudslides were were severe enough to be federally declared disasters dozens of the states' 58 counties.

What’s the new deadline?

October 16. The relief is offered automatically to anyone with addresses on file with the IRS in a designated disaster area. This includes individual income tax returns, various business returns and returns of tax-exempt organizations.

Support for LAist comes from

How do I know if I’m included?

You can check out the areas on this IRS relief list. Whenever the Federal Emergency Management Agency declares a disaster, those places are entitled to a longer filing and payment window.

And here's a list of the 51 California counties included, according to Gov. Gavin Newsom's office:

    • Alameda
    • Alpine
    • Amador
    • Butte
    • Calaveras
    • Colusa
    • Contra Costa
    • Del Norte
    • El Dorado
    • Fresno
    • Glenn
    • Humboldt
    • Inyo
    • Kings
    • Lake
    • Los Angeles
    • Madera
    • Marin
    • Mariposa
    • Mendocino
    • Merced
    • Mono
    • Monterey
    • Napa
    • Nevada
    • Orange
    • Placer
    • Riverside
    • Sacramento
    • San Benito
    • San Bernardino
    • San Diego
    • San Francisco
    • San Joaquin
    • San Luis Obispo
    • San Mateo
    • Santa Barbara
    • Santa Clara
    • Santa Cruz
    • Siskiyou
    • Solano
    • Sonoma
    • Stanislaus
    • Sutter
    • Tehama
    • Trinity
    • Tulare
    • Tuolumne
    • Ventura
    • Yolo
    • Yuba

    What if I live outside one of these areas?

    If you live elsewhere, you may still get a delayed deadline if you meet certain conditions. For example, if your tax records are inside the declared area, or your tax preparer is and they can’t file for you. You’ll have to call the IRS Disaster Hotline at 866-562-5227 and explain your situation. Make sure to have the correct FEMA Disaster Number for the area on hand.

    What questions do you have about how L.A. works?
    Caitlin Hernández explains what makes L.A. tick so that you can navigate our complicated city. If you’ve ever asked yourself, “Why is this like this and not like that? How does that work? Does it actually work?” then they want to hear from you. Share your question below.

    Corrected April 14, 2023 at 10:00 AM PDT
    An earlier version of this story included an incomplete list of counties covered by the new deadline. The list has been updated. LAist regrets the error.
    Most Read