Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

Arts and Entertainment

Lakers Are 2009 NBA Champions

LAist relies on your reader support.
Your tax-deductible gift today powers our reporters and keeps us independent. We rely on you, our reader, not paywalls to stay funded because we believe important news and information should be freely accessible to all.

From the lows of that 131-92 game at Staples Center against the Boston Celtics a year ago, the Lakers defeated the Orlando Magic 99-86. This is the franchise's 15th championship and head coach Phil Jackson's 10th to surpass Red Auerbach. Kobe Bryant won the NBA Finals MVP for the first time. Comment away.