Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.

Arts and Entertainment

LAist Agenda: January Events

Stories like these are only possible with your help!
You have the power to keep local news strong for the coming months. Your financial support today keeps our reporters ready to meet the needs of our city. Thank you for investing in your community.

iphonecalendar.jpg
Photo of iPhone calendar and other apps by re-ality via flickr.


Photo of iPhone calendar and other apps by re-ality via flickr.

Here’s just a sampling of what's up in January…we’ll add interesting events as we get them so keep checking back. You want your event considered? Drop us a line with the details.Wednesday, Jan. 7
Focus on Female Directors @ the Egyptian Theatre
Art Professor Denis Dutton @ ALOUD at Central Library

Thursday, Jan. 8
The Art of Looking Discussion (Rococo paintings) @ LACMA
Monthly Downtown Artwalk @ various venues

Support for LAist comes from

Friday, Jan. 9
photo l.a. 2009 @ Santa Monica Airport’s Barker Hanger
SFV’s old “space race” test sites discussion @ Farmlab Salon
First Fridays (Focus on Charles Darwin) @ Natural History Museum

Photo used on the sidebar January Agenda by MikeFinkelstein via Flickr

Saturday, Jan. 10
Charles Perry on “The Great American Soda Fountain” @ Central Library
Golden Globe Foreign-Language Nominees Seminar @ Egyptian Theatre
L.A. Opera “The Magic Flute” @ Dorothy Chandler Pavilion

Sunday, Jan. 11
Film Screening: Grey Gardens @ LACMA

Monday, Jan. 12
Monday Evening Concerts features “American Originals” @ Colburn School’s Zipper Hall
Ideablob's live biz brainstorm session @ Westwood Brewing Company

Tuesday, Jan. 13
The Magic Flute @ Aero Theatre

Wednesday, Jan. 14
Town Hall - LA: Debate on Proposition 8 - "Defining Marriage in California" @ National Center for the Preservation of Democracy

Thursday, Jan. 15
Allen Edwards discusses and signs Shear Force: An Image-Maker's Memoir @ Diesel Bookstore in Brentwood
Waiting for Godot @ A Noise Within

Friday, Jan. 16
World premiere of the play “Modern Love” @ The Sidewalk Studio Theatre
Wordplay @ Fake Gallery (sold out)

Saturday, Jan. 17
Aaron Rose's first solo exhibition @ Hope Gallery
There's No People Like Snow People: Kid's Art Show @ Monkeyhouse Toys & Art Gallery

Support for LAist comes from

Sunday, Jan. 18
Doo Dah Parade @ Old Town Pasadena
There's No People Like Snow People: Kid's Art Show @ Monkeyhouse Toys & Art Gallery

Monday, Jan. 19

Tuesday, Jan. 20
"Art of Change Inaugural Ball - Los Angeles" @ Mayan Theatre

Wednesday, Jan. 21
Weird On Top - Improvisational comedy troupe @ The Eclectic Company Theatre
Danny Hoch's Taking Over @ Kirk Douglas Theatre

Thursday, Jan. 22
Blue Note 70th Anniversary--On Tour @ UCLA Royce Hall

Friday, Jan. 23
Still Point: Harmony, Justin and Hana (dance) @ Five Thirty Three
Art L.A. @ Barker Hangar

Saturday, Jan. 24
Affliction’s “Day of Reckoning” (MMA) @ Honda Center
Art L.A. @ Barker Hangar
Sunday, Jan. 25
Go Green Expo @ Los Angeles Convention Center
Vibe 14 Hip Hop Dance Competition @ UCI Bren Events Center
Art L.A. @ Barker Hangar
Love LA Show @ The Music Box @ Henry Fonda Theater
Craft Night with music and bowling and drinking @ All Star Lanes

Monday, Jan. 26
“The Strange Genius of Sir John Soane” lecture @ LACMA

Tuesday, Jan. 27
“In Focus: The Portrait” exhibit opens @ Getty Center
Discussion with "Eye of the Needle, Eye of the Heart" curators Meskerem Assegued and Peter Sellars and artist Elias Simé @ Santa Monica Museum of Art

Wednesday, Jan. 28
“Monsters and Prodigies: The History of the Castrati” (theatre) @ REDCAT
The Surface of Space opens @ Phantom Galleries - Long Beach
Modern Art in LA: Gallery 32 @ Getty Center's Harold M. Williams Auditorium

Thursday, Jan. 29
Thieves of Baghdad: The Journey to Recover the World's Greatest Stolen Treasures lecture @ CalTech’s Beckman Auditorium
Heard of Elephants Art/Music Collective @ The Unknown Theater
A Love Affair With The East: Orientalist Photography in the Middle East and North Africa, 1839-1925 @ Getty Center Museum Lecture Hall

Friday, Jan. 30
The Murderers are Among Us and In Those Days @ LACMA
Once Upon a Time in the West @ Getty Center
The Life and Times of A. Einstein @ Theatre West

Saturday, Jan. 31
Harold Lloyd’s Speedy with live organ accompaniment @ Royce Hall
A Year With Frog & Toad @ MainStreet Theatre Company