Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

This is an archival story that predates current editorial management.

This archival content was written, edited, and published prior to LAist's acquisition by its current owner, Southern California Public Radio ("SCPR"). Content, such as language choice and subject matter, in archival articles therefore may not align with SCPR's current editorial standards. To learn more about those standards and why we make this distinction, please click here.

Arts and Entertainment

Writers Guild of America Awards: Winners and Red Carpet Candids

Before you
Dear reader, we're asking you to help us keep local news available for all. Your financial support keeps our stories free to read, instead of hidden behind paywalls. We believe when reliable local reporting is widely available, the entire community benefits. Thank you for investing in your neighborhood.

On Saturday night, the Writers Guild of America (WGA) handed out its 2014 Writers Guild Awards at the JW Marriott at L.A. Live to honor the wordsmiths who put pen to paper or bang out pages on a keyboard—creating stories and dialogue that make the stars shine onscreen. The awards not only honored outstanding writing in film and television, but they also the best in new media, videogames, news, radio, promotional and graphic animation categories.

The big film winner of the night was Spike Jones, who took home Original Screenplay for Her, beating out other heavy hitters American Hustle (Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell); Blue Jasmine (Woody Allen); Dallas Buyers Club (Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack) and Nebraska (Bob Nelson).

In adapted screenplay, Captain Phillips, written by Billy Ray, beat out August: Osage County; Before Midnight, Lone Survivor and The Wolf of Wall Street. Actor-director-writer Sarah Polley took home the award for Documentary for Stories We Tell.

In television, Breaking Bad’s team captured the Drama Series Award, while VEEP took home the trophy for comedy. Breaking Bad also took home the award for Episodic (Drama) for “Confessions” (Breaking Bad), written by Gennifer Hutchison; with 30 Rock’s “Hogcock!” (30 Rock), written by Jack Burditt and Robert Carlock, winning for comedy.

Support for LAist comes from

The WGA also gives an award for new series, with House of Cards besting an impressive category that included The Americans, Masters of Sex, Orange is the New Black and Ray Donovan.

The Colbert Report took home the trophy in Comedy/Variety/Talk, beating Conan, The Daily Show With Jon Stewart, Jimmy Kimmel Live! Portlandia and Saturday Night Live. In Short Form Original New Media, “Episode 4: The Collected Sylvia” (Sylvia Plath: Girl Detective), written by Mike Simses; beat out “Episode 8” (Lauren, Season 2), written by Jay Rodan; and “I Do Over Part 1” (Husbands) and “I Do Over Part 2” (Husbands), written by Bradley C. Bell & Jane Espenson;

We also have to mention the category for Daytime Drama category—a genre that's quickly disappearing—because our fav soap growing up—Days of Our Lives—beat out General Hospital and The Young and the Restless.

Hosted by Brad Garrett, the night also honored Hollywood legends Paul Mazursky and Garry Marshall with Laurel Awards, for outstanding contributions to screenwriting.

(And just a side note, the ceremony was held simultaneously in New York and L.A., but we think NYC finished first because the winners were online halfway through the ceremony here. Kind of anti-climactic, WGA!)

The complete list of winners follows.

ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY: Her, written by Spike Jonze; Warner Bros.

ADAPTED SCREENPLAY: Captain Phillips, screenplay by Billy Ray; based on the book A Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, and Dangerous Days at Sea by Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty; Columbia Pictures

DOCUMENTARY SCREENPLAY: Stories We Tell, written by Sarah Polley; Roadside Attractions

DRAMA SERIES: Breaking Bad, written by Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett; AMC

Support for LAist comes from

COMEDY SERIES: Veep, written by Simon Blackwell, Roger Drew, Sean Gray, Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin, Georgia Pritchett, David Quantick, Tony Roche, Will Smith; HBO

NEW SERIES: House of Cards, written by Kate Barnow, Rick Cleveland, Sam Forman, Gina Gionfriddo, Keith Huff, Sarah Treem, Beau Willimon; Netflix

EPISODIC DRAMA: “Confessions” (Breaking Bad), written by Gennifer Hutchison; AMC

EPISODIC COMEDY: “Hogcock!” (30 Rock), written by Jack Burditt & Robert Carlock; NBC

LONG FORM - ADAPTED: Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight, written by Shawn Slovo, based on the book by Howard Bingham and Max Wallace; HBO

SHORT FORM NEW MEDIA - ORIGINAL: “Episode 4: The Collected Sylvia” (Sylvia Plath: Girl Detective), written by Mike Simses;

ANIMATION: “A Test Before Trying” (The Simpsons), written by Joel H. Cohen; Fox

— COMEDY / VARIETY (INCLUDING TALK) - SERIES: The Colbert Report, writers: Stephen Colbert, Tom Purcell, Michael Brumm, Nate Charny, Rich Dahm, Paul Dinello, Eric Drysdale, Rob Dubbin, Glenn Eichler, Gabe Gronli, Dan Guterman, Barry Julien, Jay Katsir, Frank Lesser, Opus Moreschi, Bobby Mort, Meredith Scardino, Max Werner; Comedy Central

COMEDY / VARIETY - MUSIC, AWARDS, TRIBUTES SPECIALS: Blake Shelton’s Not So Family Christmas, Head Writers: Jay Martel, Ian Roberts; Writers: Alex Rubens, Charlie Sanders; NBC

— QUIZ AND AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION: Jeopardy!, written by John Duarte, Harry Friedman, Mark Gaberman, Debbie Griffin, Michele Loud, Robert McClenaghan, Jim Rhine, Steve D. Tamerius, Billy Wisse; ABC

DAYTIME DRAMA: Days of Our Lives, written by Lorraine Broderick, David Cherrill, Carolyn Culliton, Richard Culliton, Rick Draughon, Christopher Dunn, Janet Iacobuzio, David A. Levinson, Ryan Quan, Dave Ryan, Melissa Salmons, Christopher J. Whitesell; NBC

CHILDREN'S - EPISODIC & SPECIALS: “influANTces” (A.N.T. Farm), written by Vincent Brown; Disney Channel.

DOCUMENTARY - CURRENT EVENTS: “Egypt in Crisis” (Frontline), written by Marcela Gaviria & Martin Smith; PBS

DOCUMENTARY - OTHER THAN CURRENT EVENTS: “The Choice 2012” (Frontline), written by Michael Kirk; PBS

— NEWS - REGULARLY SCHEDULED, BULLETIN, OR BREAKING REPORT: “Tragedy at Newtown” Special Edition (ABC World News with Diane Sawyer), written by Lisa Ferri and Matt Negrin; ABC

NEWS - ANALYSIS, FEATURE, OR COMMENTARY: “Lethal Medicine” (60 Minutes), written by Michael Rey, Oriana Zill de Granados, Michael Radutzky; CBS

DOCUMENTARY: “2012 Year in Review,” written by Gail Lee; CBS Radio News

NEWS - REGULARLY SCHEDULED OR BREAKING REPORT: “Afternoon Drive,” written by Bill Spadaro; CBS Radio/1010 WINS

NEWS - ANALYSIS, FEATURE OR COMMENTARY: “Remembering C. Everett Koop,” written by Scott Saloway; CBS Radio News

ON-AIR PROMOTION (TELEVISION, NEW MEDIA OR RADIO): “The Crazy Ones - Building a Better Comedy,” written by Erial Tompkins; CBS

TELEVISION GRAPHIC ART AND ANIMATION: CBS News Animations: “Brain Injury,” “Pills,” “Bionic Leg,” “Midland Parade,” “Concordia Salvage;” Animation by David Rosen; CBS News

VIDEOGAME: The Last of Us, written by Neil Druckmann; Sony Computer Entertainment