Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

Arts and Entertainment

The Top 10 Albums I Didn't Review in 2008

Stories like these are only possible with your help!
You have the power to keep local news strong for the coming months. Your financial support today keeps our reporters ready to meet the needs of our city. Thank you for investing in your community.

I missed the boat on getting as many CDs reviewed as I wanted to in 2008 (a subtle hint at a 2009 resolution of mine) so here are some stellar albums that deserve more than the short mention they are receiving below:- MGMT's "Oracular Spectacular" (released 01/22/08 by Columbia Records) To call it refurbished '80s synth-pop would be small-minded and unimaginative. This is a great record by a band that also swings a great live show. Am chagrined that a major label kicks this list off but, hey, these are listed chronologically.

- Prince Fatty's "Survival of the Fattest" (released 04/08/08 by Tommy Boy/raSa) Incredibly fun reggae/dub insanity. Was in heavy rotation in my CD player all summer long, so much so that I didn't write about it. Their cover of "Gin and Juice" is to die for.
Listen to Prince Fatty's "Gin and Juice":

- Free Kitten's"Inherit" (released 05/20/08 by Ecstatic Peace) Sonic Youth's Kim Gordon continues to prove she's a force to be reckoned with. Noisier and tougher than you or me with the chops to prove it. No delicate kitten her, thumpy rockers descend into noise grunge at a moment's notice.

- Ellen Allien's "Sool" (released on 5/27/08 by Bpitch Control) More really cool, weird, organic techno from the multi-talented Allien.

Support for LAist comes from

- Girl Talk's "Feed the Animals" (released 06/19/08 by Illegal Art) The incredible mixmaster sample-god Gregg Gillis does it again. All hail Girl Talk!!!

- Late of the Pier's"Fantasy Black Channel" (released 07/22/08 by Astralwerks) This import will have its US release on January 13th. Buy this album. Unafraid to pump synth sounds that would set Gary Numan or The Cars' Greg Hawkes back on their heels and backed by real live choppy guitars and trashy drums, Late of the Pier is going to be a band to watch this coming year.

- The Chemical Brothers' "Brotherhood" (Limited Edition) (released on 09/02/2008 by Astralwerks) More than just a comprehensive greatest hits collection, the second disc has 10 tracks called "Electronic Battle Weapons" that are the sample and mixing proving ground for many of the songs that are in the singles as well as songs we have yet to hear.

- Monareta's"Picotero" (released 10/07/08 by Nacional Records) Very interesting fusion of authentic ethnic Colombian dance music and electronica and dub. A lot of fun with every song a surprise.
Listen to Monareta's "Llama":

- Bombay Dub Orchestra's "3 Cities" (released 10/21/08 by Six Degrees Records) Not as "cinematic" as their self-titled 2006 release, but we're taking that as an improvement. The beats are meatier this time around and the energy is a bit higher, something we liked a lot.
Listen to Bombay Dub Orchestra's "Journey":

- Free Blood's "The Singles"(released 11/11/08 on DFA records) Free Blood founder John Pugh left funk-rockers !!! in July of this year to fully focus on his new project. A full album of new material is due in early 2009 and LA is lucky it has a chance to see in just about a week on January 8th at La Cita downtown.
Listen to Free Blood's "Grumpy":