Support for LAist comes from
True LA stories, powered by you
Stay Connected

Share This


Sacha Baron Cohen, Diablo Cody Invited to be Oscar Voters

Our reporting is free for everyone, but it’s not free to make.
LAist only exists with reader support. If you're in a position to give, your donation powers our reporters and keeps us independent.

105 people were invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences to become voting members today. Among those were actors Sacha Baron Cohen, Marion Cotillard, Allison Janney, Cody Diablo and Jet Li.

“These individuals are all incredibly talented and a credit to the world of filmmaking,” said Academy President Sid Ganis in a statement. “They exemplify the high standards of the Academy and I welcome each and every one of them to our ranks.”

Membership of the Academy is just under 6,000 and only a certain amount are invited each year. Not every invitation is accepted, but for those who do accept, a welcome reception for them will be held in September. The full list of 105 invitees is below.