Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

Arts and Entertainment

Festival Showcases New Generation of Filmmakers

LAist relies on your reader support, not paywalls.
Freely accessible local news is vital. Please power our reporters and help keep us independent with a donation today.

Los Angeles is known for its prolific filmmakers, and we would be remiss if we didn't encourage the next generation of artists in this field to explore their craft and grow up to tell their stories.

In an effort to do just that, City Councilmember Paul Krekorian launched the Los Angeles Student Media Festival (LASMF) this year. After receiving over 100 submissions from high school students throughout the city, festival judges selected 26 to be screened at the Beaudry Theater downtown on February 12. Of those 26, eight winners were selected in seven categories.

The event is an offshoot of FilmFest 43, a festival that Krekorian developed as a member of the California State Assembly which ran for two years.

LASMF was sponsored by industry heavy hitters like NBC/Universal, Disney and Paramount, and was judged by Adam Belanoff, a writer and co-executive producer of TNT’s “The Closer;” Carla Garapedian, a filmmaker and former anchor of the BBC World News; Alex Kalognomos, an award-winning television and theater actor; Claire Knowlton, the executive director of the McGroarty Arts Center, and our very own editor, Lindsay William-Ross.

Support for LAist comes from

The festival's winners received awards to take home, as well as the chance to meet industry insiders -- winners in the Best Comedy category, for instance, will have lunch at the Warner Bros. lot with film and television writer Ron Osborn, whose credits include “Mork & Mindy" and "The West Wing."

Festival winners were:

  • "Ciclavia," by Ricardo Maldonado and David Ramos of Kennedy High School, for Public Affairs
  • "Crossroads," by Loren Simons and Kyle Mortensen of El Camino Real High School, for Best Drama
  • "ENM Sports," Hosted by Isaiah McMihelk and Jose Flores of ASD Digital Academy - Youth Build Charter, for Best Newscast
  • "Fakie Bigger Flips," by Ethan Mclaglen, Chriss Chann, Dominic Romero of Taft High School, for Best Documentary / PSA
  • "Starface," by Chanel Samson, Cassie Dimas and Caitie Guttry of Providence High School, for Best Animation
  • "Stereotypical," by Ben Bahner, Yixel Padilla and Daniel Russell of Cleveland High School, for Best General
  • "The Talent Show," by Anjoum Agrama, Olivia Chuba, Jesse Allain-Marcus, John Glouchevitch, Danielle Strassman, Marka Maberry-Gaulke and Xochi Maberry-Gaulke of Harvard-Westlake School, for Best Comedy
  • "Wheelchair Accesibility" by Megan Roope, Kelly Voosen, Carlee Renteria, Emiy Henderson, Mary Ruben of Providence High School, for Best Documentary / PSA

The short film "Crossroads," by Loren Simons and Kyle Mortensen of El Camino Real High School/winner of the Best Drama award