Support for LAist comes from
We Explain L.A.
Stay Connected

Share This

Arts and Entertainment

LAist Agenda: September

Stories like these are only possible with your help!
You have the power to keep local news strong for the coming months. Your financial support today keeps our reporters ready to meet the needs of our city. Thank you for investing in your community.

5b2c58024488b3000927f520-original.jpg

Looking for this month's nightlife? Check out our favorite events below. / Photo by !Manny! via LAist's flickr pool.

We'll add interesting events as they come our way. Want your event considered for listing? E-mail us.

Mon., Sept. 1
See today’s Pencil This In

Support for LAist comes from

Tue, Sept. 2
Once on This Island @ Freud Playhouse, UCLA
Megan Crane and Liza Palmer on "How to Get Published" networking event @ Blankspaces

Wed, Sept. 3
Towelhead film premiere @ the Egyptian
Guitar session with Slash @ Guitar Center Northridge
Zócalo's "Who's Pacific Rim it It?" @ the Skirball
Creative Commons Salon @ Found Gallery

Thu, Sept. 4
The Chalk Boy @ the Alexandria Hotel

Fri, Sept. 5
LA County Fair @ the Fairplex in Pomona (until Sept. 28)
FOX's Fringe and Do Not Disturb fall TV preview party @ Paley Center
New America Foundation Conference: The Next World - How Should the United States Respond to Rising Powers? @ Shutters Hotel

Sat, Sept. 6
Movies in the Park: Grease (.pdf) @ Northridge Park
The CW's fall previews of Privileged and 90210 @ Paley Center
Jon Favreau Live Iron Man commentary @ Aero Theatre

Sun, Sept. 7
The Peking Acrobats @ the Hollywood Bowl

Mon, Sept. 8
NBC's My Own Worst Enemy. Kath & Kim, Crusoe, Knight Rider TV previews @ Paley Center

Tue, Sept. 9
Zocalo's "Are the Teacher's Unions Too Powerful?" @ the Los Angeles Central Library
Sukiyaki Western Django screening @ Nike Sportswear presents The Montalbán

Wed, Sept. 10
Zocalo's "Is There Such a Thing as L.A. Cuisine" @ the Hammer Museum
New Zealand Wine Dinner @ The Langham Huntington Hotel's Dining Room

Thu, Sept. 11
Alan Weisman, author of The World Without Us @ USC Annenberg
Director Chris Smith live with double feature of The Yes Men and American Movie @ the Egyptian

Support for LAist comes from

Fri, Sept. 12
Little Green Men opens @ the Westchester Playhouse
The New Short Fiction Series featuring "Claudia" by Scott Doyle @ Beverly Hills Public Library Auditorium

Sat, Sept. 13
Los Angeles BBQ Festival @ Santa Monica Beach
Armenian Festival @ Laguna Hills Community Center
Blue Dot Boutique Sale @ OC Fair & Event Center

Sun, Sept. 14
Art Directors Guild members' exhibit @ NoHo Gallery LA
Director John Badham In-Person with double feature of Blue Thunder and Wargames @ Aero Theatre
Los Angeles BBQ Festival @ Santa Monica Beach
Blue Dot Boutique Sale @ OC Fair & Event Center

Mon, Sept. 15
J.A.M. Session: Hip Hop Ya Don't Stop @ Ford Amphitheatre

Tue, Sept. 16
Zócalo presents E. Benjamin Skinner on "A Crime So Monstrous: Face-to-Face with Modern-Day Slavery" @ MOCA
Maynard James Keenan wine signings @ Whole Foods in Pasadena"LP4: 'The Paisley Underground'" listening party @ LACE

Wed, Sept. 17
Maynard James Keenan wine signings @ Whole Foods in Venice
Fame (with post-film discussion with Debbie Allen) screens @ ArcLight Hollywood
Park City, L.A. panel discussion @ the Center for Healthy Communities

Thu, Sept. 18
Grapes of Wrath reading circle @ Vroman's in Pasadena
Gustavo Arellano: Orange County- A Personal History @Yost Theatre in Santa Ana

Fri, Sept. 19
43 Plays for 43 Presidents @ Sacred Fools
Backhausdance @ Ford Amphitheatre
Park[ing] Day LA @ a parking space near you

Sat, Sept. 20
Olympic gymnasts @ Honda Center

Sun, Sept. 21
The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (1938) @ the Egyptian Theatre.
Martin Kippenberger: The Problem Perspective art opening @ MOCA Grand Avenue

Mon, Sept. 22
Fleet of Foot art talk @ Santa Monica Museum of Art

Tue, Sept. 23
Sur le Motif: Painting in Nature Around 1800 @ The Getty Center

Wed, Sept. 24
Building Green: Home Design and Construction Seminar @ CSULB

Thu, Sept. 25
New Media Interchange LA @ Sherman Oaks Public Library
Drums to Beat Malaria @ Air Conditioned Supper Club

Fri, Sept. 26
Feast of San Gennaro @ Hollywood & Highland
Dive N'Surf Redondo Beach Lobster Festival @ Redondo Beach
AltCar Expo @ Santa Monica Civic Center

Sat, Sept. 27So You Think You Can Dance Tour @ Honda Center
Wag N' Walk @ Simi Valley
A Celebration of Rumi: Mystic Persia w/special guest Yo-Yo Ma @ Hollywood Bowl
Dive N'Surf Redondo Beach Lobster Festival @ Redondo Beach
Hamlet @ A Noise Within
AltCar Expo @ Santa Monica Civic Center

Sun, Sept. 28
West Hollywood Book Fair @ West Hollywood Park
Dive N'Surf Redondo Beach Lobster Festival @ Redondo Beach

Mon, Sept. 29
Candace Bushnell signing and discussion @ Vroman's

Tue, Sept. 30
Piano Spheres @ Zipper Concert Hall